the nedbank golf challenge in numbers

12:00    08 Nov 2018

With the 2018 edition of the Nedbank Golf Challenge getting underway today, we take a closer look at the tournament’s most salient statistics.

26 – The number of different champions in the history of the Nedbank Golf Challenge.

1981 – The year in which the first Million Dollar Challenge was held. Just five players were invited and American Johnny Miller was the first champion.

10 – South Africa has been the most successful nation in the history of the tournament, with her players winning a combined 10 titles.

277 – The aggregate score posted by 2017 champion Branden Grace. He was the first South African to win the tournament since Trevor Immelman in 2007.

3 – The number of titles won by the tournament’s most successful player, Ernie Els. ‘The Big Easy’ also holds the tournament records for the aggregate score (263) and to par (-25).

1979 – The year in which the Gary Player Country Club was opened.

7981 – The length in yards of the Gary Player Country Club course. It is a par 72, with the course record standing at 63 (posted by Ernie Els in 2002 and matched by Henrik Stenson in 2008).

7.5million – The prize fund in US dollars for the current iteration of the tournament. The winner takes home $1,166,660.

9 – The number of times the title has been decided by a playoff. The most recent example was in 2009 when Australia’s Robert Allenby defeated Henrik Stenson.

12 – The largest margin of victory came in 1993 when Nick Price was 12 strokes ahead of runner-up and fellow Zimbabwe Mark McNulty.

284 – The highest aggregate score to end as champion was the 284 shot by South Africa’s David Frost in 1990.


Related Articles