the eredivisie in numbers

12:00    09 Aug 2018

Ahead of the start of the 2018/19 Eredivisie season, which will feature Fox Sports 1’s live coverage of PSV Eindhoven v FC Utrecht on Saturday night, we look at the numbers behind the Netherlands’ top-flight league.

1956 – The year in which the Eredivisie was founded, two years after the start of professional football in the Netherlands.

33 – The number of Dutch national titles won by Ajax, making them the most successful club in Netherlands’ football history.

24 – PSV Eindhoven are the reigning champions of the Eredivisie, claiming their 24th title in 2017/18.

3 – The ‘big three’ of the Eredivisie are Ajax, PSV and Feyenoord. Combined, the trio have won all but three of the Eredivisie titles up for grabs since 1965. The only exceptions were AZ Alkmaar in 1981 and 2009, and FC Twente in 2010.

62 – The ‘big three’ are also the only clubs to have played in all 62 previous seasons of the Eredivisie.

306 – The number of matches played in an Eredivisie season (excluding the Europa League playoffs).

960 – The number of goals scored in the 2017/18 Eredivisie season, at an average of 3.14 per match.

687 – The appearance record for the Eredivisie, held by goalkeeper Pim Doesburg. He played for Sparta Rotterdam and PSV through his career.

311 – The all-time record goal scorer in the Eredivisie is Willy van der Kuijlen, who scored 311 goals in 545 matches between 1964/65 and 1981/82.

43 – The record number of goals scored in a single Eredivisie season stands at 43. The record is held by PSV legend Coen Dillen.

21 – The 2017/18 Eredivisie top scorer was Iranian striker Alireza Jahanbakhsh, who scored 21 goals for AZ. He has since moved to Premier League side Brighton & Hove Albion.

54,000 – The capacity of Ajax’s Johan Cruyff Arena, the largest stadium in the Eredivisie.

9 – The number of managerial changes made in the Eredivisie ahead of the start of the 2018/19 season.


Related Articles