looking ahead to the 2018/19 euroleague final four

12:00    16 May 2019

CSKA Moscow's players
The 2018/19 EuroLeague Final Four will be held at the Fernando Buesa Arena in Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain this coming weekend, with Fenerbahce Beko, Anadolu Efes, CSKA Moscow and Real Madrid looking to claim the coveted title.

The Final Four will be live on Fox Sports 2, with the semifinals on Friday evening from 17h45 CAT and 20h45 CAT, while the final will be broadcast from 20h15 on Sunday.

Watch: Relive the magic moments ahead of EurLeague Final Four

The action gets underway with a Turkish derby between Fenerbahce Beko and Anadolu Efes. Ergin Ataman's team has been the most prolific in attack this season, registering an average of 85.4 points per game behind dazzling backcourt play from Vasilije Micic, Shane Larkin, Rodrigue Beaubois and Kruno Simon.

However, they will find it difficult to play their high-tempo game against a Fenerbahce team which has bolstered Zeljko Obradovic's reputation for defensive excellence by allowing just 74.6 points per game during the regular season.

Watch: Olimpia’s James scoops Alphonso Ford Top Scorer accolade

The other semifinal on Friday night is a meeting of old foes, with CSKA Moscow and Real Madrid meeting in the Final Four for the third consecutive year. The Russian team won the Third Place Game in Istanbul a couple of years ago before Real prevailed in last season's semifinal.

This season’s meetings were both taken by CSKA, with an 88-93 victory in Madrid in November and another narrow win, 82-78, in Round 22 in Moscow.

The game will see two genuine superstars go head-to-head, with CSKA boasting one of the best performers in the playoffs, Nando De Colo, while Real will hope the returning Sergio Llull (the 2017 EuroLeague MVP) can produce his best form as they chase a record-extending 11th EuroLeague title.

Watch: Madrid’s Tavares named EuroLeague Best Defender

The weekend’s festivities in Vitoria-Gasteiz will also see the 2018/19 MVP named, with Kostas Sloukas, Jan Vesely (both Fenerbahce), Will Clyburn (CSKA), Nick Calathes (Panathinaikos) and Brandon Davies (Zalgiris Kaunas) all hoping to win the honour for the first time in their careers.

Related Articles