formula e to expand to 11 teams in 2018/19

13:00    12 May 2018

Chase Carey (USA) Formula One Group Chairman with Alejandro Agag (ESP) Formula E Holdings CEO
The 2018/19 Formula E season will feature 11 teams after it was confirmed that HWA AG will enter the series.

The Affalterbach-based organisation has been providing technical support to the Venturi Formula E team and will use their powertrains.

HWA have a long-standing relationship with Mercedes-AMG – they build and manage the marque’s racing cars for the DTM series.

“Formula E is a completely new motorsport discipline with extremely tough competition,” said HWA CEO Ulrich Fritz.

“It’s a challenge that we’re very happy to rise to. HWA AG are the most successful team ever in DTM history. Our goal is to continue the company’s success story in Formula E.

“At the same time, Formula E with its unique concept offers a completely new perspective on the future for motorsport.

“The series is characterised by its innovative pioneering spirit and by its willingness to develop new ways of interacting with the fans.”

HWA’s arrival will coincide with the introduction of the Gen2 Formula E cars, which have longer battery lives and higher top speeds..

“Not only does Formula E have a new-look and unique visual identity for season five, with the futuristic next generation car – but we also have exciting news with a new team entering the ABB FIA Formula E Championship in HWA AG,” said Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag.

“It’s rewarding to see a name so synonymous with racing join the already impressive and growing list of teams and manufacturers competing in Formula E.

“They have a proven track record in other categories and will surely push to replicate similar achievements in Formula E as we enter a new era of fully-electric racing.”

Related Articles